Blog

historical fiction books | historical romance books

The Land Girl on Lily Road is Here!

By Jillianne Hamilton
March 5, 2024

The final novel in my WWII romance trilogy, Homefront Hearts, was released yesterday! The Land Girl on Lily Road is an enemies to lovers/opposites attract historical romance. Unlike The Hobby Shop on Barnaby Street and The Seamstress on Cider Lane, this book doesn’t take place in London but in the fictional farming village of Fairbury, located outside of beautiful Bath in Somerset.

Those who read The Seamstress on Cider Lane might recognize the heroine—Elsie is Jack’s entitled younger sister.

Bravery and fortitude on the English homefront endure in this lighthearted, enemies-to-lovers WWII romance, perfect for fans of The Wartime Matchmakers and Dear Mrs. Bird.

Expecting a relaxing getaway at her family’s summer estate, pampered socialite Elsie Foster-Quinn signs up for the Women’s Land Army. When she ends up at a Somerset dairy farm instead, Elsie immediately butts heads with the grumpy farmer she now works for. Being a land girl in a small town is far more than the city girl bargained for.

Ben Grainger hates asking for help. When two land girls unexpectedly arrive on his farm, he quickly learns he can’t simply make them go away. He finds amusement in tormenting Elsie whose privileged life certainly didn’t prepare her for farm life. However, nothing could have prepared Ben for the feelings that suddenly emerge whenever the haughty little princess is near.

Why can’t he keep his eyes off her? And why can’t she stop thinking about him? Opposites attract—but is it true love?

Between the Germans bombing nearby Bath and a deadly disease rampaging through local farms, Ben and Elsie’s trust in each other is put to the ultimate test.

The Land Girl on Lily Road is available on Amazon/Kindle, Apple Books, Kobo, Nook, and Google Play.

* * *

What is a land girl?

“Land girls” was the nickname for members of the Women’s Land Army. Originally formed during the First World War, the WLA brought thousands of young women to the country to work on farms for food and timber production, replacing the men who were away fighting. (The United States, Australia, and New Zealand also had similar organizations during wartime.)

Some of these women, like Elsie in Sheila in The Land Girl on Lily Road, went through agricultural training to give them some sense of preparedness for life on a farm. Like many of the women who took this training, Elsie and Sheila had never been near a cow before arriving at a farm, having only practiced milking a cow with a rubber udder.

 

What was the Baedeker Blitz?

As mentioned in the book’s blurb above, Bath was bombed for two nights in a row in 1942. Since Bath was not considered to be a prime target for the Germany Luftwaffe, most residents were entirely unprepared for the raids that Londoners had become so used to. Bath and several other historically significant British cities (including Exeter, home to our very own Jonathan Posner) were bombed in retaliation for the raids on Lübeck, Germany.

Because the historic cities targeted during this campaign are favorites among tourists, it became a myth that the Germans chose the cities from a Baedeker travel guide. Depending on the source, this may or may not be true.

Many well-known Bath sites were damaged in two nights of heavy bombings. More than 400 people were killed and about a thousand were injured.

Jillianne Hamilton

Written by Jillianne Hamilton

Jillianne writes delightful historical fiction and historical romance featuring rebellious ladies and happy endings. Her debut novel was shortlisted for the 2016 PEI Book Award and her Victorian historical fiction novel, The Spirited Mrs. Pringle, was longlisted for the 2022 Historical Fiction Company Book Award. She is also the author of the WWII romance trilogy, Homefront Hearts. Jill lives on Canada’s beautiful east coast.

View Jillianne’s PLW Profile

Share This Post

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *